Food, Fact & Faith – Feb 28th

You know those days where you’re quite certain if you work until dawn, you still won’t even touch your to-do list? Yea, me either….

I spent the last 3 days galavanting all over the metroplex with my mom & aunt. It was worth every unsent email and Santa-length errand list I now have to complete.

parkTime is priceless. But, the time away allowed me to comprise some awesome WWWO around Dallas.


FAITH:
I can’t reiterate how many times I’ve thought of this verse this past week. All while walking in the opposite direction. About that. I try to play God, all the time.  Like, “I don’t need sleep God. I don’t need to rest! I don’t need to plan ahead! I certainly don’t need to go that way you’re pointing me!”

Silly me. And still, every time He has patience! He just waits for me on the bench, smiling with that all-knowing grin. “Whitney, this is the best way.”

Anyone else?

Proverbs 3:5-6  Trust in the Lord with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding; in all your ways submit to him, and he will make your paths straight.

 

 


FACT&FOOD: So many inspirational meals this week. I took my family to all my favorite places and took an awkward photo of all my meals just for you. And yes, I did eat almost 5 servings of Brussel sprouts this week. I’m living the dream!

WWWO:

  • Feed Company: built my own meal out of the sides. Two eggs, bacon and Brussel sprouts. Lots of black coffee AND water.
  • Mi Cocina: The new kale salad…the name I can’t recall. I nixed the dressing and cheese; used guacamole as my salad dressing. So good!
  • Flower Child; a three-option bowl which included Brussel sprouts, butternut squash, cauliflower, and salmon.
  • 18th&Vine (Which I often call 9th&Ivy); Two ‘que meal with turkey, chicken and Brussel sprouts. Plus, some pickles from the appetizer. There were leftovers. 
  • HG Sply; built a bowl that included pulled pork, Brussel sprouts, and a macerated kale salad. I left the dressing on the side, I didn’t want to ruin any of the flavors.
  • HopDoddy; farmhouse salad without cheese, added a turkey burger for protein. I also tried the 4 oz Little Larry margarita. I wish every restaurant served margaritas that small; this girl would be one happy, sober, camper.

Let’s be honest, even after making healthier choices, I’m feeling a bit bloated from the sodium and slightly heavier meals than my usual go-to’s. But, I’m so thankful for a city that provides plentiful healthy and allergen-friendly options for everyone to enjoy. I no longer feel guilty about eating out even when the meal choices aren’t up to my home-cooked standards(or over-exercise to compensate for it). Life is too precious for that kind of anxiety.

Tonight, you’ll find me at home happily throwing back some massaged kale.


FRUGAL DEAL OF THE WEEK: Did you see the newest installment of Thrifty Thursday? We posted deals on deals!

giphy.gif

 


 

Check out our new guidance program. Each week your inbox will fill with Whitness-Approved recipes including breakfast, smoothie and 3 Mix&Match meals to keep you inspired and on the right path of easily-implemented nutrition! Keep it simple or upgrade to receive a customized weekly plan to accommodate your social calendar, receive a weekly grocery list, or instant 24/7 meal feedback via patient portal.

oliver-zenglein-310061

 


 Witness good nutrition by making an appointment. 
Send me a love letter, here:

Leave a comment