Food, Fact & Faith – Love Edition

Good Morning, beautiful! Another Hallmark holiday approaches. I look forward to the excuse to bake all things pink and dole out heart-themed cards.

It doesn’t have to be a forlorn day.

It doesn’t have to relate to your relationship status.

Single, divorced, widowed, or happily married; there’s enough love to spread around. But most importantly, take a moment tomorrow to love yourself.


FAITH:A good reminder that no matter how good the sale or how much you save, the happiness you gain pales in comparison to that which you create from the inside. And that, is ALWAYS free. (4).pngThis time of the year is busy. The 70 hour work weeks are worthwhile because my clients continue to make huge strides. But, I tend to throw off my friends and family in the whirlwind. My bible study group last Thursday reminded me the importance of loving on others.  I am only as strong as the community I invest in. Although I could have used those 2 hours to work on an upcoming lecture, I let go. I listened to the victories and struggles of my friends and opened my heart to them. That night filled me up with strength and love, but it also reminded me how selfish isolation can be. My challenge for you this week is to take a moment each day to invest in something, or someone, else. Ask someone else how they are, call your aunt, visit a friend; just pull your mind out of your own troubles. The Lord reminds us to love our neighbor. I struggle in this area. Struggle along with me?

 


FACT: Weight Watchers is opening their program to teenagers for free. I have a lot of thoughts on this, but a few like-minded dietitians have already elaborated on it. Read more, here.

I began telling my parents “I’m fat” and “want to diet” in second grade after a few bully encounters. I had a father who was quick to nip those remarks in the bud and reassure me. But, not all parents will know that this Weight Watchers program is detrimental (just like my Mom’s attempt to help me lean out by serving me SlimFast smoothies in middle school), which is the variable that scares me the most. Spread the word, #wakeupweightwatchers


annie-spratt-183419

FOOD: Dallas refuses to warm up, thus; it’s soup time! Soup can be done wrong, but I’m here to keep you straight. Let’s pack this with nutrients, fiber, protein, and we can just leave the other stuff behind. Including cold weather.

This week:

QUICK CHICKEN BONE BROTH VEGETABLE SOUP

Thanks, Jami Boys – An Oregon Cottage for this simple recipe. You can substitute in other vegetables as desired. 6-8 Servings

  • 2 qts. bone broth
  • 1 medium onion
  • 2-3 carrots
  • 2 celery stalks
  • 3-4 small potatoes
  • 2-3 c. additional vegetables (cabbage, green bean, spinach, kale, etc.)
  • 2 cloves fresh garlic, minced
  • a pinch to 1/8 tsp cayenne (or to taste – the more you can take, the better)
  • salt & pepper to taste

INSTRUCTIONS

  • Chop all vegetables into small, even pieces.
  • Combine broth, vegetables, and spices in a large saucepan and bring to a boil.
  • Lower heat and gently cook for 10-15 minutes or until all the vegetables are cooked.
  • Taste to adjust seasonings and serve.

Feel uncomfortable in the kitchen? Utilize a Prim & Prepper session to get yourself set-up for success!

W30DDSnap (3)


FRUGAL DEAL OF THE WEEK: Did you see the newest installment of Thrifty Thursday? We posted deals on nut butter, We Yogis & drinkable soup. 

But, new today: Take a Session Pilates class with me this Saturday for $10 instead of the usual $25. Whoa, I know. 

And, join me for a FREE sweat + love muffins Valentine’s Day morning at Lync Cycling. Caveat; you have to be there at 5:45AM. Bring it on, baby!

Looking for a cheaper collagen option? Use code whitnessnutrition on Further Food OR pre-pay here for a wholesale discount to pick-up at Lync Cycling.


Witness good nutrition by making an appointment. Or, check out our new lunch&learn options. Although this was originally created for the office setting, we’re happy to set up talk for parent groups, Mother’s Day out, church assemblies, or around a nice big dining room table of friends. Everyone deserves better health! Let me talk some sense over a nutritious meal. 


charlie-brown-happy-valentines-cute-greetings-animated-gif-2.gif

Send me a love letter, here:

633 West Davis St. #275 Dallas Texas 75208

Leave a comment