Food, Fact & Faith – March 20th

Feeling so much peace going into this week. Although that was the last thing I expected to feel, I’ve been overwhelmed with the love and support of my community. You are amazing! 


FAITH:  Whoa. How did I not see that Psalm sooner? I will be using my bedtime app religiously now. I can’t serve Him well, or hit that to-do list effectively, if I don’t prioritize rest.

Psalm 127:2 “In vain you rise early and stay up late, toiling for food to eat— for he grants sleep to those he loves.”


FACT: I baked for a local restaurant’s brunch buffet in high school. Thus, I freaking love to bake. But now I usually hold back until it’s Christmas or my husband’s birthday because cleaner baked good are 1) time consuming and 2) more expensive.

I prefer to just stick to the basics throughout the week. But, I wanted to get creative for my recent Further Food takeover. I’m bringing you the pancake recipe I created with simple ingredients that won’t break the bank. You can source all of these from Trader Joe’s or Kroger and snag a deal on collagen peptides; the most expensive part, or simply exchange for an equal weight of whey/egg white protein. 

PEPTIDE PANCAKES – SERVES 3

download (1)

  • 6 eggs
  • 2/3 cup unsweetened almond milk
  • 1/4 cup coconut oil, melted
  • 3 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/2 cup coconut flour, sifted
  • 1/4 cup Further Food collagen peptides
  • 1/4 tsp baking soda
  • Pinch of salt
  • Coconut oil spray
  1. Crack the eggs into a medium mixing bowl and mix. Add the coconut oil, almond milk and vanilla extract and mix thoroughly.
  2. Add the coconut flour and collagen peptides and mix until smooth.
  3. Add the baking soda and salt and mix lightly. Over-mixing will cause the pancakes to be less fluffy!
  4. Melt coconut oil in a large skillet on medium heat.
  5. When hot, spoon the batter into the skillet in circles. The batter will be more thick than normal pancake batter.
  6. Flip the pancakes when they are browned on the bottom and cook until done.
  7. Transfer to a plate and top with my favorite, cashew butter and fresh berries!

FOOD: Although I had some delicious meals from the Whole Foods Market hot bar, Zoe’s new spring menu and BBBop this week, I wanted to share my simple go-to for a simple protein each week. This chicken has saved me more than once when I’m in a bind to make a quick and balanced dinner. Try it tonight! Or, better yet, let it cook while you’re at work.


FRUGAL DEAL OF THE WEEK: Did you see the newest installment of Thrifty Thursday? I posted deals from ALL my favorite grocery stores; ALDI, Whole Foods Market & Sprouts. Don’t miss out!

P.S. Someone commented about that Primal Kitchen Mayo for $7 at Costco, HOLLA. 


 Witness good nutrition by making an appointment. 
Send me a love letter, here:

Leave a comment