Food, Fact & Faith – April 24th

When I tell my husband I’m stopping to pick up snacks.. #whatsmysnack

 

pratt


Healthy snacks at our new location! 


FACT- The easiest way to improve your diet is to consume real food. Before buying another supplement, acupuncture session, or $8 juice, buy yourself a bundle of spinach and stuff your face with it.  I’ve had an excessive amount of questions this week on the subject that makes a 1% difference (turmeric, CoQ10, lactobacillus, psyllium) while the 99% column is avoided. No supplement can out-perform a bad diet. Start big!

  1. Greens
  2. Water
  3. Sleep
  4. Movement

FOOD- The advertisement of minuscule amounts of protein; is this a new trend of 2018? Time posted, “Weekend Recipe: Peanut Butter Protein Balls That’ll Help Fuel Your Workouts”. I naturally calculated the macronutrients to discover that the bar contains only 5g of protein and triple the carbohydrates. Sounds like a LaraBar to me! 

I love the idea of creating your own bars and saving money. But, a protein bar should , n fact, contain protein. Compare Time Magazine’s 5 ingredient recommendation and my own 8 ingredient variation of a popular recipe from Healy Eats Real.
Can you find which actually contains significant protein? Although similar taste palettes, the HER bar – yes, I used initials because “HER bar” sound strong– will keep you full and satiated with a 1:1:1 ratio of carbs, fats & proteins. Open your pantry and check your own protein bars. Do they really contain protein?

 

 

These bars were easy peasy, no bake! Although sticky while making, they came together well in the fridge overnight.

No-Bake-Protein-Bars-Recipe-Homemade

  • 3/4 cup Almond flour
  • 1/4 cup Spectrum flax, chia, cocoa ground mix
  • 2 tbsp chia seeds
  • 3 tbsp unsweetened shredded coconut
  • 3/4 cup Vital Proteins grass-fed collagen 
  • 1/4 cup + 2 tbsp crunchy raw peanut butter
  • 1/4 cup honey
  • 2 oz. semi-sweet chocolate chips melted.
My Modifications- 12 instead of 5 bars. I also melted collagen in 1 oz warm water before adding to the liquids. Mix all together and press into a parchment-lined 8×8 pan.

pie

Cut after set up ~12 hours.

Maybe you saw my meal this week, a pretty unlikely order at a pizza restaurant. But Pie Tap has a secret rotisserie chicken, sourced from local farmers, that has made me a cool wife suggesting pizza every week 🙂

Check out their Wednesday night BIRD NIGHT special: $10 Half Bird / $20 Whole Bird. Includes one side: I ordered broccolini and mushrooms, but the salad is also delicious!

 


FAITH- Blessed are those who mourn, for they will be comforted. Matthew 5:4

My Translation: I had a hard day. I left yoga with tears all over my face. Instead of wiping them away, I chose to wear my grief as a victorious pendant and not a scar.

I pray that you can approach your pain in the same way.


W30DD.March (5)

Extra: Whole30 Dallas Duo Workout 

This weekend, our largest workout event yet commences at Gather Kitchen with a yoga flow session with Deborah Lee of We Yogis!
Bring a yoga mat to roll out on Gather Kitchen’s expansive patio beneath Thanksgiving Tower.

Outdoor Voices will provide swag while we feast on balanced bowls from Gather Kitchen; an official Whole30 approved restaurant (the first in Texas!).

Your ticket covers yoga, validated parking in the garage below, a post-workout protein bowl, infused water bar, and entry into our Whole30 approved giveaways!

Sign uphere! 


Leave a comment